Home » Breaking News, Maritime » G6 announces 17 new port rotations to North America, trans-Atlantic

Port KlangThe G6 Alliance has ironed out the port rotations for the proposed service expansion to the Asia-North America West Coast and trans-Atlantic trade lanes, announced in early December last year.

Subject to regulatory approval, the 17 services are scheduled to start in the second quarter of 2014, broken down into 12 services on the Asia-North America West Coast lane and five on the trans-Atlantic loop.

“With the introduction of the Asia-North America West Coast and trans-Atlantic services, the G6 Alliance will further strengthen its position to meet shippers’ demand for more comprehensive, seamless and efficient services with competitive transit times,”  an alliance statement said on February 20. “Further, each of the G6 Alliance members will be able to offer its customers significantly improved port-pair connections compared to their previous products.”

The port rotations for the Asia-North America West Coast are:

SE1 (South East Asia 1): Singapore, Chiwan/Shekou, Kaohsiung, Los Angeles, Manzanillo (only APL and Hapag-Lloyd participating), Lazaro Cardenas (only APL and Hapag-Lloyd participating), Los Angeles, Yokohama, Kaohsiung, and Singapore.

SE2 (South East Asia 2): Laem Chabang, Cai Mep, Hong Kong, Los Angeles, Oakland, Hong Kong, and Laem Chabang.

SE3 (South East Asia 3): Port Klang, Singapore, Laem Chabang, Yantian, Los Angeles, Oakland, Busan, Shanghai  (Waigaoqiao), Ningbo, Yantian, and Singapore.

SC1 (South China 1): Xiamen, Chiwan/Shekou, Yantian, Los Angeles, Oakland, Kaohsiung, and back to Xiamen.

SC2 (South China 2): Dachan Bay, Hong Kong, Yantian, Kaohsiung, Los Angeles, Kaohsiung, Xiamen, Hong Kong, Dachan Bay.

CC1 (Central China 1): Shanghai (Waigaoqiao), Kwangyang, Busan, Los Angeles, Oakland, Busan, Kwangyang, and Shanghai.

CC2 (Central China 2): Ningbo, Shanghai (Waigaoqiao), Los Angeles, Ningbo.

CC3 (Central China 3): Qingdao, Xingang, Busan, Yokohama, Los Angeles, Oakland, Dutch Harbor (APL only), Yokohama, Busan, Naha (APL only), and Qingdao.

CC4 (Central China 4): Shanghai (Waigaoqiao) , Ningbo, Los Angeles, Oakland, Shanghai.

NP1 (North Pacific 1): Singapore, Laem Chabang, Dachan Bay, Hong Kong, Yantian, Vancouver, Tacoma, Seattle, Busan, Kaohsiung, and Singapore.

NP2 (North Pacific 2): Hong Kong, Yantian, Kaohsiung, Shanghai, Busan, Tacoma, Seattle, Vancouver, Yokohama, Busan, Kwangyang, and Hong Kong.

NP3 (North Pacific 3): Qingdao, Ningbo, Shanghai (Yangshan) , Busan, Vancouver, Tacoma, Vancouver, Tokyo, Nagoya, Kobe, Qingdao.

The trans-Atlantic services are:

AX1 (Atlantic Express 1): UK port (terminal to be confirmed), Rotterdam, Hamburg, Le Havre, New York, Norfolk, UK port.

AX2 (Atlantic Express 2): Southampton, Antwerp, Bremerhaven, Le Havre, Veracruz, Altamira, Houston, New Orleans, Charleston, and Southampton.

AX3 (Atlantic Express 3): Antwerp, Bremerhaven, Southampton, Charleston, Port Everglades, Houston, Savannah, Norfolk, and back to Antwerp.

PA1 (Pacific Atlantic 1): Shanghai (terminal to be confirmed), Busan, Kobe, Nagoya, Tokyo, Tacoma, Vancouver, Oakland, Los Angeles, Balboa (to be confirmed), Panama Canal, Manzanillo, Panama, Savannah, Norfolk, New York, Halifax, Southampton, Antwerp, Hamburg, Rotterdam, Halifax, New York, Norfolk, Savannah, Manzanillo, Panama Canal, Los Angeles, Oakland, Yokohama, Shanghai.

PA2 (Pacific Atlantic 2): Kaohsiung, Busan, Kobe, Tokyo, Balboa, Panama Canal, Manzanillo, Miami, Jacksonville, Savannah, Charleston, New York, Rotterdam, Bremerhaven, UK port, Le Havre, New York, Norfolk, Charleston, Manzanillo, Panama Canal, Balboa, Los Angeles,  Oakland, Tokyo, Kobe, and Kaohsiung.

The G6 Alliance, formed in late 2011, began operating in March 2012 on the Asia-Europe and Mediterranean trade lanes. The cooperation expanded to the Asia-North America East Coast trade lane in May 2013.

With the proposed expansion, the G6 Alliance will provide a network covering all three major East-West trade lanes, operating a total of 29 services.

The alliance members—APL, Hapag-Lloyd, Hyundai Merchant Marine, Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Nippon Yusen Kaisha, and Orient Overseas Container Line—will continue to market these services individually.


Photo: jgmorard

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × 1 =