Home » 3PL/4PL, Ports/Terminals » PPA updates list of harbor pilots

The Philippine Ports Authority (PPA) has issued an updated roster of harbor pilots servicing 22 ports in the country.

PPA assistant general manager for operations Hector Miole, through Operations Memorandum Circular (OMC) No. 03-2018, gave the updated roster of harbor pilots, who, as of June 2018, number 122. This is more than the 119 harbor pilots listed as of September 2016 under OMC 04-2016.

Last year, PPA allowed the addition of one more slot for an authorized harbor pilot for Cagayan de Oro as vessel calls at the port have been growing.

The harbor pilots are assigned at the ports of Aparri, Batangas, Bicol, Cagayan de Oro, Catbalogan, Davao, Dumaguete, General Santos, Iligan, Iloilo, Manila, Masinloc-Sta. Cruz, Nasipit, North Panay, Puerto Princesa, Pulupandan, San Fernando, Siain-Hondagua-Casiguran, Surigao-Maasin-Bislig, Tacloban, Tagbilaran, and Zamboanga.

Currently, foreign and domestic ships are mandated to seek the services of harbor pilots when docking and undocking at Philippine ports.

OMC 03-2018 states that PPA’s Port Management Offices shall monitor the performance of the harbor pilots and their compliance with documentary and other requirements, as well as their compliance with required reports as provided under PPA Administrative Order (AO) 93-85. The AO sets forth the rules and regulations governing pilotage services, the conduct of pilots, and pilotage fees at Philippine ports.

The Maritime Industry Authority conducts the harbor pilot examination and issuance of license, while PPA approves the number of harbor pilots per pilot district depending on the need for the service.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + eighteen =

Please support the site
By clicking any of these buttons you help our site to get better
Social PopUP by SumoMe
Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.