Home » Press Releases » PH ports agency chief assumes chairmanship of ASEAN port group

From left Mr. Mohamad Puzi Mohamad Nazir (Malaysia), Mr. Vo Hoang Giang (Vietnam), Mr. Chieap Thol (Cambodia), Pengiran Haji Mohd. Zain (Brunei Darussalam), Mr. Djarwo Surjanto (Indonesia), Atty. Juan C. Sta. Ana (Incoming APA Chairperson), Ms. Lawan Oungkiros (Outgoing APA Chairperson), Ms. Elizabeth C. Follosco (Head, APA Permanent Secretariat), Mr. Jiravich Klomperee (Outgoing APA Secretary General), Ms. Soontree Kimsawat (Thailand), Mr. Rahman Kamin (Singapore), Mr. Cho Than Maung (Myanmar) and Mr. Hector E. Miole (Incoming APA Secretary General). Photo from www.ppa.com.ph

PHILIPPINE Ports Authority (PPA) general manager Juan C. Sta. Ana has assumed the chairmanship of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations Ports Association (APA), a post he will be holding until 2015.

Sta. Ana took over the position in a ceremony that was part of culminating activities at the recent 39th APA Meeting held in Bali, Indonesia.

The PPA chief replaced Lawan Oungkiros, deputy director general of the Port Authority of Thailand (POT).

Sta. Ana designated Hector Miole, port district manager-Southern Luzon, as APA secretary-general and Jiravich Klomperee, assistant director of POT’s Research and Organization Development Division, as vice chairman.

Prior to the chairmanship, Sta. Ana was APA’s vice-chairman while David Simon, PPA assistant general manager for finance, legal and administration, was the honorary auditor.

APA comprises port organizations functioning either as corporate bodies or as bureaus of ASEAN members Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The port authority of each ASEAN member takes turn in assuming the chairmanship and vice-chairmanship of the APA with a term of two years.

APA was conceived in 1974 but was formally organized in 1975 with former Bureau of Customs Commissioner Rolando Geotina and former PPA acting general manager retired Navy  Captain Mariano Nicanor as the first chairman and secretary general, respectively.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven + 9 =