Home » Maritime, Ports/Terminals » Seven newly opened missionary routes ignite interest of shipping lines

Several domestic shipping operators have signified interest to serve seven out of the 19 roll-on/roll-off (Ro-Ro) missionary routes that were recently opened by the Maritime Industry Authority (Marina).

Marina, during a recent Lower House Committee on Transportation hearing, said the seven routes are Batangas City-San Jose, Occidental Mindoro-Coron, Palawan; Lucena, Quezon-Odiongan, Romblon-Caticlan/New Washington; Lucena, Quezon-Romblon, Romblon; Lucena, Quezon-Masbate City-Calbayog, Northern Samar; Maasin, Southern Leyte-Ubay, Bohol; San Andres, Quezon-San Pascual, Masbate- Pasacai, Masbate; and Taytay, Palawan-Cuyo, Palawan.

The opening of Ro-Ro missionary routes is one of Marina’s measures to upgrade the domestic shipping industry in support of the nautical highway development, which is one of the eight priority programs under the 10-year Maritime Industry Development Plan (MIDP).

The 19 are part of lateral RoRo routes, which have more or less 140 links, and which are on top of the 27 routes on the three main Eastern, Central, and Western nautical highways under the country’s Road Roll-on/Roll-off Terminal System (RRTS).

A system of roads and ports developed by the Philippine government to connect the major islands of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao, the RRTS was opened to the public on April 12, 2003 as the Strong Republic Nautical Highway.

Marina officer-in-charge Narciso Vingson, Jr. also encouraged shipping companies to consider deploying their ships to the 12 other Ro-Ro missionary routes to further enhance connectivity in the country.

The other 12 Ro-Ro missionary routes opened for prospective shipping operators include the following: Basco, Batanes-Currimao, Ilocos Norte; San Juan, Batangas-Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro; Real, Quezon-Polillo Island, Quezon; Pantao, Albay-San Pascual, Masbate; Calbayog City, Samar-Cataingan, Masbate; Cuyo, Palawan-San Jose de Buenavista, Antique; Oslob, Cebu-Dumaguete, Negros Oriental; Punta Engano, Mactan Island, Cebu-Jetafe, Bohol; Poro, Camotes, Cebu-Isabel, Leyte; Lipata, Surigao del Norte-Dapa, Surigao del Norte; Siaton, Negros Oriental-Dipolog City; and Lucena, Quezon-Buyabod, Marinduque.

Shipping companies are also encouraged to propose new missionary routes that, in addition to the above list, can be developed.

A shipping company that will serve a missionary route shall enjoy protection of investment for five years and 50% discount on the regular fees of all applications and renewal of ship documents, licenses, certificates, and permits.

Meanwhile, Marina said all routes under the three main nautical highways are now fully served.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 + 18 =