Tuesday, September 21, 2021
HomeAviationMore PH airports allowed to accept commercial flights as of June 21

More PH airports allowed to accept commercial flights as of June 21

A total of 27 airports in the country have been allowed by their local governments to handle commercial flights as of June 21, according to the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP).

CAAP noted, however, that while some airports are allowed to handle commercial flights, these are subject to different documentary and passenger restrictions.

Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade earlier said that domestic flights starting June are allowed in areas under general community quarantine (GCQ) but require approval from the local government.

CAAP said airlines already have scheduled commercial flights at 18 airports in the country following approval of their respective LGUs.

The 27 airports already accepting commercial flights are:

  1. Antique Airport
  2. Borongan Airport
  3. Catarman Airport
  4. Catbalogan Airport
  5. Cauayan Airport
  6. Clark International Airport
  7. Cotabato Airport
  8. Davao International Airport
  9. Dipolog Airport
  10. General Santos Airport
  11. Jolo Airport
  12. Iloilo Airport
  13. Laguindingan Airport
  14. Legazpi Airport
  15. Mactan-Cebu International Airport
  16. Masbate Airport
  17. Naga Airport
  18. Ninoy Aquino International Airport
  19. Ormoc Airport
  20. Ozamiz Airport
  21. Pagadian Airport
  22. Palanan Airport
  23. Puerto Princesa International Airport
  24. Romblon Airport
  25. San Jose Airport
  26. Tacloban Airport
  27. Zamboanga Airport

Six airports are set to start accepting commercial flights on later dates. These are:

  1. Basco Airport (July 1)
  2. Virac Airport (July 1)
  3. San Vicente Airport (July 1)
  4. Busuanga Airport (July 1)
  5. Surigao Airport (August)
  6. Siargao Airport (September 1)

Airports still not allowed by their respective local governments to handle commercial flights include:

  1. Bacolod-Silay Airport
  2. Bohol-Panglao International Airport
  3. Butuan Airport
  4. Calbayog Airport
  5. Camiguin Airport
  6. Caticlan Airport
  7. Dumaguete Airport
  8. Guiuan Airport
  9. Hilongos Airport
  10. Kalibo International Airport
  11. Laoag Airport
  12. Maasin Airport
  13. Marinduque Airport
  14. Roxas Airport
  15. Sanga-Sanga Airport
  16. Tuguegarao Airport

CAAP director general Jim G. Sydiongco earlier said advised airlines to verify and confirm with concerned airport authorities if airports are allowed to resume operations.

Regular commercial air travel had been suspended since travel restrictions were implemented as part of measures to prevent the spread of the coronavirus disease. Cargo and repatriation flights, however, have remained operational.

Last May, the government has eased community quarantines nationwide starting June, placing Metro Manila, Regions II, III, VIA-A, VII, and Pangasinan, Zamboanga City, and Davao City under GCQ while the rest are under modified GCQ (MGCQ).

GCQ is a less restricted form of community quarantine than modified enhanced community quarantine.

MGCQ, meanwhile, is a more relaxed version of GCQ and is the transition phase prior to the “new normal.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 × four =

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -