Home » Maritime, Ports/Terminals, Press Releases » Cebu ship operators unite to form organization

Cebu-based shipping companies have banded together to form a single organization with the aim of promoting development of the domestic shipping industry.

Formally established last June, the Philippine Coastwise Shipping Association, Inc. (PCSA) is a merger of three shipping organizations—Philippine Roll-on/Roll-off (Ro-Ro) Operators Association (PROA), Visayan Association of Ferry Boat and Coastwise Ship-owners Operators (VAFCSO), and United Trampers Association of the Philippines (UTAP).

With the merger, PCSA said it has become the largest shipping association in the Philippines, whose members combined operate the biggest total gross tonnage of ships in the country.

PCSA aims to strengthen its advocacy to develop a robust domestic shipping industry through a mutually beneficial government and private sector cooperation.

The organization was formed “primarily to unify and organize ship owners and ship operators in the country,” PCSA chairman and Lite Shipping president and chief executive officer Lucio Lim, Jr. said in a statement.

Lim said PCSA aims to promote a viable public policy framework that will accelerate the modernization and development of the domestic shipping industry.

He added that the newly formed group also wants to promote responsible ship ownership and adherence to accepted standards of safety and service in domestic shipping operations among its members.

Elected officials and Board of Trustees members include president Paul Rodriguez (Asian Marine Transport Corp.), vice president for cargo shipping Benson Go (Seensam Shipping), vice president for passenger shipping Vicente Montenegro, Jr. (Montenegro Shipping), treasurer Pio Serafin Fulache (Medallion Shipping), and corporate secretary Teresa C. Abad (2GO Group, Inc.).

Other members of the board are Alexander Cohon (Lapu-Lapu Shipping Lines), Arthur Kenneth Sy (Trans-Asia Shipping), and Jose Emery Roble (Roble Shipping).

PCSA has also named former Philippine President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo chairperson emeritus in recognition of her support to the local shipping industry when she authored the establishment of The Strong Republic RORO Nautical Highway.

Arroyo will induct the PCSA board of trustees and officers on August 16.

PCSA said it is open to other ship owners and operators who would like to join their organization.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three + 6 =