Home » Customs & Trade » 13 new faces at PH Customs as staff transfer continues

THE Philippine Bureau of Customs (BOC) has brought another batch of 13 new faces into the service, as the clean-up of the corruption-prone agency continues.

The new appointees were Ver Angelo Sumabat, assigned at the Assessment and Operations Coordinating Group (AOCG); Alexis F. Medina,  Legal Service, Revenue Collection Monitoring Group (RCMG); Willie M. Tolentino, Enforcement Security Service (ESS), Enforcement Group; Mario Mendoza, Port of Manila; Elmir S. dela Cruz, Manila International Container Port (MICP); Emer M. Aceron, Ninoy Aquino International Airport; Roberto T. Almadin, Port of Cebu; Arnulfo J. Marcos, Port of Subic; Esteban Castro, Clark International Airport; Ilie Lionel B. Gramata, Port Operations Service, AOCG; and Ernesto P. Benitez Jr.

Arnulfo Gambayan, a customs broker and director of the Chamber of Customs Broker Inc., was appointed to the Import Assessment Service of the AOCG.

Charo Logarta-Lagamon, a public relations practitioner, was named to head the Public Information and Assistance Division under the Internal Administration Group. Lagamon will replace Huberto Vasquez, who was detailed to the Customs Policy Research Office (CPRO).

Meanwhile, 20 customs personnel will be transferred to the CPRO under the Department of Finance. They include deputy commissioner for Port Entry Audit Group Ericson A. Alcovendaz, five director 3 and eight attorney 5.

Other customs officials to be transferred are George Aliño (director, ESS); Fernandino Tuason (director, CIIS); Ramon Cuyco (director, Collection Service); Simplicio Domingo II (director, Legal Service); Kissinger Reyes (director, Technology Management Service); Eden Dandal (attorney, Interanl Inquiry and Prosecution Division [IIPD]); Javier Alpaño (attorney, IIPD); Lyceo Martinez (attorney, appellate division); Giovanni  Leynes (attorney, Prosecution and Litigation Division [PLD]); Roberto M. Sacramento (attorney, PLD); Balmyrson M. Valdez (attorney, PLD); Ricardo U. Morales II (attorney, PLD); Filemon L. Mendoza Jr. (attorney, Ruling and Research Division); Remedios S. Espinosa (collector 5, MICP); Jose Brigido N. Yuchongco (special police chief, Customs Police Division); Eric G. Albano and Richard S. Rebong ( Intelligence Division); Elenita A. Abaño and Huberto L. Vasquez (PIAD).

The CPRO was created under Executive Order 140 signed by President Benigno Simeon Aquino III last Sept. 2.

Sources say there are more movements to come at the BOC. The bureau was castigated by Aquino in his latest state of the nation address for failing to hit its revenue targets and to curtail smuggling.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seven − six =