Home » Ports/Terminals » 10 Ports for Development as World-Class Terminals

THE Philippine Ports Authority (PPA) has identified 10 ports to be developed into world-class terminals. These are the Manila North Harbor, South Harbor, Manila International Container Terminal, and the Ports of Batangas, Iloilo, Cagayan de Oro, Davao, Ozamiz, General Santos, and Zamboanga.

&;Over the years, these ports have witnessed the concentration of trading activities, accounting for 92% of the total cargo traffic of base ports and about 80% of cargo traffic of government ports,&; PPA General Manager Alfonso Cusi said.

According to him, while other ports are emerging as equally important cargo distribution centers, the 10 remain as the major gateways, with their level of operation regularly used as a barometer of port and economic activities.

Cusi noted after these ports have met international standards before the 2010 goal, the development of others with equally high potential will immediately follow. – Maritess R. Mesias

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − nine =

Please support the site
By clicking any of these buttons you help our site to get better
Social PopUP by SumoMe
Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.